Skip to content

A happy little Cougar Town article

February 28, 2012

A co-worker, Francesca Regan, recently commented that my latest articles are all downers. Either I’m ranting about something or I’m pushing an austere Lenten agenda of prayer and reflection. I disagree of course, but in deference to her, I give you a cheerful little article about a TV show I’m quite fond of: Cougar Town.

Wait, stop right there, it’s not a TV show about women in their 40’s scurrying around bedding 20-year-old guys. In reality, it’s a horribly mis-titled sit-com about a bunch of wine drinking adults sitting around a cul-de-sac in Florida goofing around and living life. You know, like the rest of us would like to be doing.

I won’t give you a whole song and dance about the show’s background, other than to say it’s from the mind of Bill Lawrence, creator of hits Spin City and Scrubs. It stars the sane “Friend” Courtney Cox, my favorite member of the “Drew Carey Show” cast Christa Miller, the original adorkable Busy Phillips, the real-life groom from that “Big Fat Greek WeddingIan Gomez, and then three guys I was introduced to because of this show but are equal to the merits of the previously mentioned – Josh Hopkins, Dan Byrd and Brian Van Holt.

It’s a quirky little cast, who tell quirky little 22 minute stories about their quirky characters, and at 8:30 p.m. on a Tuesday it’s exactly what I need after a long day. Is it going to win a Peabody Award? Nope (although, who ever thought The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson would win one of those either).

Here’s the deal, you guys give it a try for a few weeks, and if you don’t at least like it, I’ll write about whatever you tell me to write about (and you know I will, heck, Francesca just made an off-hand comment and this is what happened). But you have to promise to watch the quirky little show before you tell me to write something. And there will be a test.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 4:03 PM

    I love this show and the characters. And yes, I wish I could live my life like they do.

Leave a Reply

