Skip to content

What to put on my mid-life bucket list..?

May 19, 2011

I turn 39-years-old today.

I am completely unaffected by this fact. Perhaps it’s a guy thing, but I don’t really worry about getting older. I’m not a fan of the associated aches and pains, but the grey hair, wrinkles and receding hairline don’t bother me. As I tell most people who fret about their advancing age, it beats the alternative, you know… death.

However, a few people have suggested to me that I should put together a bucket list, a handful of things I want to do before my 30’s expire and I turn 40. I like that idea. For one thing, I love lists. I also like finding dumb reasons to do things.

So I figured I’d come up with 12 bucket list items that I’ll accomplish over the next year. I figure these should be “me” oriented things. I also think they should be viewed as accomplishments, not necessarily things I purchase or services I procure. You also won’t see any traveling on this list. I don’t consider that “me” activity, since I’d surely bring the family along and therefore it’s a “family” decision.

Don’t worry Mom, jumping out of an airplane won’t be one of the things on the list. And don’t fret dear Wife, I’m  not pushing for a sports car or a mistress, they’re both too high maintenance.

So here’s what I came up with, in no particular order:

1. Viewable obliques (ala Rob Lowe’s Vanity Fair physique)

2. Complete a mini-triathlon

3. Publish a book (or e-book)

4. Learn to play the violin or relearn to play the piano

5. Gather all the guys in the family for a Chesapeake trip out on my Dad’s boat

6. Write/punch-up a sit-com or movie script

7. Race around a track day at New Jersey Motorsports Park

8. Build a proper Wiffle ball batting cage/backstop/strike zone for my backyard

9. Teach a college-level course

10. Start up a sports blog with my cousin (or someone who will actually make the time to write regularly instead of just complaining to me and my buddy Mark about screwed up TV chirons, overused commentary and bad sports reporting).

11. Record a vlog (video blog) instead of posting a written article here. Need to get into Rob Lowe shape first. And might need to get some hair plugs and Botox. Oh, and some hair dye.

12. See a friend or member of the extended family once a week. I’m setting a bad example for my son as it relates to how often I visit the people who influenced me during my formative years.

There you go, nothing flashy. Just a couple of things to knock out during the next 365 days.

You have no idea how hard it was to create that list. I actually did a couple of Google searches, er, I mean Bing (sorry A.J., my brother-in-law who works for Microsoft), looking for ideas. I’m happy to report, I had already done a lot of the things that appear on typical bucket lists (smoke a freshly hand-rolled cigar, drink expensive cognac, visit foreign countries, see famous sites, etc). So that’s good. But at the same time, my list entailed doing something I don’t like, rather selfishly focusing on me. Except for #12, that’s a good one. But perhaps a little selfishness isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It’s probably good to set personal goals and then try to achieve them.

The best list I’ve ever seen was created by Ted Leonsis, the owner of the Washington Capitals and Wizards. He created his “Life List” in the mid-80’s, and he’s knocked off quite a few things. Granted, he has a few more resources than I, but I like the list, it has an excellent “do good” quality. Perhaps after I finish my bucket list I’ll create a life list for 40.

Dear readers, please feel free to offer some guidance or help as I venture to complete my bucket list. Getting those obliques is probably going to be the hardest one. I should have buried it in the middle of the list and hoped no one noticed.

P.S.: For those who were wondering, a “bucket list” refers to the idiom “kicking the bucket,” so it’s generally considered a list of things to do before you die. Seriously, you never saw the trailer for that awful Morgan Freeman/Jack Nicholson movie? Good trailer though. 



One Comment leave one →
  1. Pat permalink
    May 20, 2011 6:26 PM

    I have a violin. It needs some TLC, but I have one. I think that it under my bed.

Leave a Reply

